it’s February already

My seasonal job at a local orchard has officially ended (nearly 2 months earlier than last year).  Last season’s apple crop was extremely heavy for our region, but this year’s was lighter.  Added to that, this season, many growers north of our location experienced late freezes which severely limited harvest for them.  This summer, higher-than-normal temperatures and too little rainfall lowered yields overall.  Every year is different; each has its own challenges.  I have to say: my hat’s off to those folks who grow our food; it’s hard for me to imagine being so at the mercy of the vagaries of the weather for a chosen livelihood!  I know I don’t begin to have the nerve for it.

But I digress.

After taking a few days off to try to change gears and catch up on a few things, I’m once again back at the drawing table…and, slowly but surely, getting back into a creative mindset.  I’m not sure why I’ve never been able to continue to work on my art while being employed.  For some reason, my art and my job have always  seemed mutually exclusive: two totally opposite head-spaces for me.   Probably just a case of not enough energy to go around. 😉

Ah well!  Hopefully, I’ll have something new art-wise to share before too long.

In the meantime, happy February!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

