columbine study 1

I apologize for my absence…  I’ve been working on some projects behind the scenes, and dealing with an illness/surgery in the immediate family, but things seem to have calmed down for now.

I’m back to working on another flower study.  Columbines begin to show themselves around here this time of year.  I’ve always enjoyed the delicate flowers with their translucent petals hanging like ethereal ornaments from straight upright stems.

columbine study 1

In this drawing, I’m hoping that the abstract pattern of the pretty much foliage-free stems against an indistinct (and yes, probably very dark!) background will show the flowers to their best advantage.

We’ll see.

Update:  Turns out I was not liking at all how this drawing was turning out… so I circular filed it.  Moving on.

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

