(still unending) rose study 5

Finally, the seasonal job has ended, and I’m back at the drawing table.

After a 9 month absence/hiatus, I just may be closing in on a finish for this study.  Hopefully.

rose study – installment 5

There is rather more hatching than I originally intended, especially in the flowers.  But I really don’t seem to be able to get the more subtle gradations in shading that I want without it.  Ah well!

The continuing challenge… especially now that I’m getting down to the nitty-gritty: maintaining contrast!

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to (still unending) rose study 5

  1. Catherine Michelle says:

    So beautiful, Teresa! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Galhenat says:

    Looks good! Especially the depth. I’m happy I don’t have to do all that hatching, wouldn’t have the patience. What kind of scale should I imagine this to be: letter size, twice that? And have you ever tried glass dip pens? I suppose they’re not fine enough for this kind of work and they don’t help with the ink drying too quickly but when I tried one, I was amazed at the long time I could write with it before redipping. (If that’s the proper term).

    • Thanks, Galhenat. The size is @9″ X 6.5″. I’ve never tried glass dip pens (but how gorgeous are they?!) I used to use metal nib dip pens years ago, but my arthritis is making that a little too challenging these days. I do love the expressiveness of the lines made with dip pens… and when the temperature is “just right” you can indeed make many marks/lines before redipping.

  3. Fiona says:

    Lovely to see you finding some ME time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

