back at the drawing table

And I couldn’t be happier.

I’m pretty sure you must be getting sick of them, but the latest incarnations of the seasonal carousel horses are finally nearing completion.  (I *will* get this series out of my system this time!)

The drawings had been shelved for months, which turned out to be a huge help.  At the time I had put them away, I wasn’t really happy with how they were shaping up (again!).  Originally, I had intended that the color tinting would do more of the heavy lifting in the drawings… but, I was uneasy with that decision.

Looking at them with fresh eyes after several months helped me to see that while there wasn’t really anything wrong with the drawings, my pen work was very timid and tentative.  The effect drawing-wise seemed anemic. There was an overall lack of contrast, making the series boring to look at.

What can I say?  I’m a pen-and-ink artist.  I didn’t like them because what they needed was MORE INK.  DUH?!  So that’s what I did.  Each drawing has been re-worked with the accent on the ink work… the tinting will still happen, but it will have a subordinate role.

First up: Spring (of course!)

Hopefully, the next post will be the finished drawing with tinting.

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to back at the drawing table

  1. Deb says:

    Beautiful…love the heart shaped leaves…

    • Thanks, Deb! I love the ethereal qualities of morning glories: the vines will climb almost anywhere, and those heart-shaped leaves are the perfect foil for the delicate (and short-lived) flowers.

Leave a Reply

