abundance

Finally!  Goodness, that took forever.

I still may tweak it here and there… especially the lower right flower.  It seems a little flat, now that I see it on the screen.  My intent was to lower the contrast within the flower itself in order to make it less interesting to look at than the higher contrast flowers.  By making that flower less visually “weighted”, I tried to create more movement within the drawing… encouraging the viewer’s eye to move through the other bottom two flowers and up to the focal point: the bud and top cluster of flowers.  The leaves and stems have been placed so as to elicit the same effect; directional devices leading the viewer’s eye through the composition.

There’s *a lot* going on… not sure if it worked or not.  Ah well!  I’m tired of looking at it, and ready to move on to the next one! 🙂

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to abundance

  1. Erica says:

    I love this piece – but then again, I’m rather fond of your flower studies in general. If you hadn’t mentioned the lower right flower, I doubt I would have paid much attention to it. 🙂 But I agree that it does seem a little flat in comparison to everything else – it recedes in the overall piece in a way that is almost distracting (but not quite). And doubtless I’m only noticing that because you mentioned it first! 😉

Leave a Reply

