baby steps

Painfully slow progress on the roses… but here’s an update:

some detail:

I guess there’s just a LOT in the drawing.  As with so many of my efforts, the farther I go, the more uncertain about it I am.  For example:

One of the things that was really bugging me was the flower in the lower left corner.  I finally had to add some background hatching around it and extend it to the edge of the paper to make it look less stark/isolated.  There is definitely something to be said for doing a drawing as a whole… working on various areas around the entire drawing to the same level of complete-ness, growing it in a “unified” way rather than zero-ing in on an area to the exclusion of the rest of the piece.  This happened with that flower.  The hatching (though it’s not nearly dark enough at present) helped to connect it to the rest of the drawing; it’s not quite as annoying to me as it was. 😉

Something on the same order was happening with the flower at the top. Adding just a bit of background hatching connected the drawing with the top edge of the paper, helping to anchor the composition a bit.  Once I fill in the area between the three bottom flowers, I’ll be happier.  I hope.

And I’m not at all sure about that bud in the upper right corner… arrrggghhhh! LOL

On it goes!

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to baby steps

  1. Thanks Debbie! I apologize… I’ve been trying to comment on your blog, but am having trouble. My dial up connection causes issues, especially with blogspot blogs. I’ll keep trying! Thanks again for commenting.

  2. Debbie Nolan says:

    Teresa – your baby steps look wonderful – I know what you mean when you focus only on one part at a time – but it is difficult to always work all over a drawing. Lovely work. Take care and God Bless.

Leave a Reply

