soft and fuzzy

Another drawing for the January Pen and Ink Challenge on WetCanvas.com:

The beautiful reference photo is by WC member Sandy1, and is called Buster the Cat:

This is my version:

Since I wanted to work in black and white only, I decided to zero-in on just the cat and crop out the rest of the photo.  Just couldn’t resist all of that wonderful fur!

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to soft and fuzzy

  1. Lisa says:

    Beautiful! I can almost see the soft texture of the fur. Makes me want to reach out & pet him. And his (reminds me of a regal lion) expression is great.

  2. Zeusgirl says:

    I think it’s gorgeous!! You’ve really captured the cat’s expression.

  3. Melissa says:

    Teresa, I’ve enjoyed your cross stitch for years.

    Thanks for showing us your artwork. Would you consider darkening just a few points on the cats face? The lower eye ring, tear ducts, fur leading to nose, around and under nose and the lower part of the”M” and a couple of whisker marks. I think that would really make the face “pop”!

    • Melissa, I appreciate the feedback. Since this drawing is just a sketch, and is not of sale-able quality, I doubt I’ll do anything more to it. One of the reasons is because I used a white india ink for the whiskers: while it scanned OK in grayscale, it looks pretty nasty in person… the paper is an off-white, and the ink is a true white. Ick.
      PS. Thanks very much for your support of my designing efforts over the years!!

  4. Kathy says:

    Teresa, you have caught his slightly annoyed expression perfectly! A little lion in miniature!

  5. Silverlotus says:

    I think that turned out lovely. The fur in your picture really looks soft.

  6. Thanks everyone, for commenting! This drawing was a lot of fun for me… I really enjoy domestic cats for both their beauty and their ‘independent’ nature. The challenge of depicting the softness of the fur along with that intense stare was one I couldn’t resist.

  7. Christine says:

    Oh. My. That is amazing.

  8. Fiona says:

    Oh my word, *isn’t* that gorgeous!! And your drawing makes him a dead ringer for our Fred, who is all ginger! I’m amazed you can get such a soft look with pen and ink – I was going to ask if you had used pastels until I went back and re-read it…..

  9. Theresa Brooks says:

    You caught his expression perfectly!

  10. Erica says:

    You can almost hear him purring! 🙂

Leave a Reply

