portraits

Normally, I just don’t do portraits.  In a nutshell: they’re hard.

Which is probably why I need to do more of them.

So, here are a couple from the Monthly Pen and Ink Challenges (December and January) on WetCanvas.com:

Reference photo: curly red hair, good lighting from WC board member jaimemonbebe:

(Obviously, I concentrated more on the face than on the hair. ;-))

And reference photo: sun thoughts from WC board member devymarie:

I really enjoy participating in the challenges.  I don’t necessarily capture portrait likenesses too well,  but it helps me to work faster, and concentrate more on capturing the essence of the subject rather than being so hung up on the technique.

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to portraits

  1. Erica says:

    I think these are both lovely, but agree with everyone else – I like the second one more than the first. She has more of a sense of movement. I think in the first portrait the proportions of her face look off, even though they mimic the original image – something about her eyes, nose & lip line aren’t working for me somehow. I don’t understand why…..

    Still, I couldn’t come close to drawing either of those images, so what the heck do I know? 🙂

    • Thanks for commenting Erica. I certainly agree! Nailing exact likenesses is beyond me at this point, so I’m concentrating on getting drawings to at least “look” believable as people. Hopefully, with more practice, I’ll get closer to capturing more than just “faces”. 🙂

  2. Zeusgirl says:

    For someone who finds potraits hard, you’ve done a fantastic job!! They’re both great, but I like the second one better – the balance of light and shade appeals to me more.

  3. Karen says:

    I think you captured her likeness very well. In the 2nd one you really nailed it! Beautiful work!

    • Thanks for commenting Karen and Zeusgirl. I also like the second one better; it looks more finished to me, even though the cross hatching is looser. I probably should have done more to the hair in the first one to better balance the dark shading in the face… Maybe I still will. 🙂

Leave a Reply

