is it dark in here, or is it just me?

Well.  Let’s just say I’m learning lots.

It’s not finished, so no critique for now… though I will say I’m beginning to get concerned about my seeming obsession with dark backgrounds. Egad.

Time to tack it to the judgement wall, and back away for awhile.

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to is it dark in here, or is it just me?

  1. jenniesisler says:

    Actually, I think the dark background works. I’ve been studying macro photography a little to get a better handle on the pictures I love to take (mostly flowers) and one of the tips is to increase the negative exposure when you’re taking a photo of a light colored flower. Negative exposure darkens the back ground and the dark background makes the flower stand out more. I can’t imagine why that wouldn’t be the case in drawing, as well, although I’m not a graphic artist by any means.

  2. Jan says:

    I look at this and envision a rose bush under a shady tree with a strong shaft of light hitting two roses. That’s what my imagination says and I’m sticking to it… 😉 You could draw a rock and I’d marvel at it’s beauty.

  3. Erica says:

    I knew there’d be things to learn from this piece – even if you’re not entirely sure of the lessons just yet.

    I’m still struggling to identify what is hitting the wrong note with me on this piece. I do love it (I love all your work, naturally), but there’s something about the rose petals that is bugging me – maybe the lines are too wavy? There’s a sense of motion almost that’s too much of a contrast to the background? I’m not sure. Something is off, but I can’t put my finger on it.

    Still, it’s lovely. Wish I could draw more than dreadful looking stick people! 🙂

    • Erica, I’m wondering if the technique (contour lines) is jarring to you because the smoothness of the rose petals doesn’t seem to be coming through? It’s one of the issues I have with using this technique. Just a guess! Thanks for the feedback!!

  4. Wanda says:

    personally.. I LOVE IT!!

  5. Galhenat says:

    Why the concern? The dark background makes the roses come forward and pushes the background into the -uh- background. (Sorry!). It works well depthwise, if it was all the same value it wouldn’t look good. Flat or boring or something.

    But psychologically speaking, Freud & Co. would probably find something to say… 😉

Leave a Reply

