on the edge

Every once in awhile a drawing comes along that I’m just not sure about… as in: Should I continue on and finish it?  Or cut my losses and move on?

At present, it’s pretty much out of control: right on the edge of being overdone … perhaps even unsalvageable.  I’m sure some would say it’s way past it’s sell-by date already, and is starting to stink up the place.  They may be right.  I don’t know.

Honestly, most of my drawings feel that way at some point during the process.  I know I tend to go overboard with the ink.  I don’t edit very well.  In my zeal to capture the image in all its detail, I sometimes end up losing control of the drawing.  Perhaps this time, preoccupation with a still-challenging technique has made this weakness more obvious.

Am I struggling?  You bet.  But it’s not a bad thing.  I’ve been told that it’s not the “successes” you learn the most from, but the “failures”.

Hmmm.  In that case, I guess I’ll press on and learn all I can. 😉

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to on the edge

  1. Erica says:

    This piece looks lovely – but there is too much background ‘busy-ness’ going on. Somewhere I heard (or read or something) that it’s not about what you leave in the picture, but what you leave out….. (….sound familiar?)…..

    I hope you press on with this drawing though – I think it’s going to teach you much on its way to completion!

    • 100% agreed, Erica, about the background busy-ness, especially at this stage. It’s maybe unfair to the drawing to show it when it’s half-way done. But then, the purpose of sharing stuff “in process” is to show how far it can go. Or not. 😉 I am still working on it, and I have to say, it’s teaching me lots. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

