the virtues of re-working

I usually tack my drawings to a bulletin board in the studio when I finish with them.  The board is placed where I don’t always look at it; I have to walk to a specific place in order to view what’s hanging on it.  Doing this seems to give me a fresher perspective; things (both good and not so good) tend to pop out at me.

Such was the case with the iris I (thought I had) finished awhile ago.  After completing the hollyhock and peony drawings with their dramatic dark backgrounds, I saw that the iris, by comparison, was beginning to look a bit a lot anemic in the contrast department.

Re-working isn’t always a good idea; overworking can happen really fast. But it was really bugging me. So, I decided to give it a shot.

The first image is the before, the second is the after.

I’m happier now. 😉

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to the virtues of re-working

  1. Erin says:

    I’m with Fiona. Now that you show me the difference, I can see it, though I would have said the first one looked fine otherwise. I *love* the added depth in the background of the second photo, though, like it gets “deeper” at the top right corner.

  2. Fiona says:

    I see *exactly* what you mean…..once it’s shoved under my nose! 🙂

    • 🙂 Thanks, Fiona. It doesn’t look out-of-place hanging with the other drawings now. Although I must say, I’m ready to do something other than a dark, dark background. That’s a LOT of ink marks.

  3. Melissa says:

    You should be…..that Iris really POPS now! Love it!

Leave a Reply

