a little drama

I’m calling it finished (for now anyway!):

The background proved to be a bit much for the technique I used… it almost has a life of its own with all of that “swirly” stuff going on.  Pretty sure I’d try something different next time…

The somewhat dramatic result reminds me of the scratchboard I did in school:  black india ink was painted over a special paper which had a layer of white china clay adhered to it.  A special tool was then used to scratch away the black ink where one wanted white to be seen.  The process of subtracting black rather than adding it (as in pen and ink drawing) was a challenging exercise.  To see lots of wonderful examples of this technique, just Google “scratchboard art”.

Next up… another flower drawing, I think.  (I told you I have flowers on the brain!)

Have a wonderful weekend!

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a little drama

  1. Jan says:

    Very interesting….. the first thing that popped into my head was flowers lying on a pile of curly hair. *LOL* As always beautiful work…

    • twentzler says:

      Jan,
      LOL! Thanks for being candid! While I was working on it, I had this feeling that the background just wasn’t turning out the way I originally envisioned it… and when I read your comment, I thought: Duh! That’s it! That’s what’s been bugging me! It looks hairy! LOLOLOL!

  2. Fiona says:

    Ooh, that is gorgeous! The flowers almost glow with luminescence against the dark background. I didn’t comment on the earlier drawing because I had nothing to say……I understood your self criticism but couldn’t add anything, nor could I see where you could take it further. I just don’t have an artistic eye – but I can appreciate the finished effect!

    • twentzler says:

      Thanks very much, Fiona. It’s a bit of a strange thing when artists put works-in-process out there for anyone to see and to comment on if they desire to do so… I understand why some artists simply won’t do it (and I respect that). But, I’ve found that many people are interested in more than just seeing an artist’s latest finished piece of artwork. They are also interested in seeing and perhaps understanding (at least some of) what goes into the process… even if, like you, they really don’t feel they can add anything comment-wise every time. And that’s just fine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

