taking license

I found another image from Wet Canvas’ online reference library that I wanted to draw. (It’s by the same photographer as the snail carving in my last post: ploverwing.  Apparently, it’s from the same batch of carvings adorning official buildings in Ottawa.)

The sculpture is of a green man: a head with greenery surrounding it.  I was drawn to it more than other green man-style carvings because the leaves weren’t growing from his mouth.  For some reason, that just seems strange to me.  Mind you, it doesn’t bother me that the greenery in this sculpture seems to be sprouting from the bridge of his nose…but there you go. 😉

Anyway!  I started to draw the sculpture as a literal study of it… meaning I didn’t see it as anything but a cool sculpture shot at a bit of an unusual angle with lots of well-defined shadows and edges to capture with ink lines.

Then, I decided to add pupils to what are just blank eyes in the photo.  The drawing seemed to become more than just a rendering of an archetypal image on a wall. He took on a definite personality and I couldn’t resist ‘freeing’ him from the wall.  And, of course,  naming him.

This is ‘Forest Watcher’ so far:

There’s a long way to go on it, but I’m really enjoying exploring this type of penwork.   Black Pigma Micron (size 005) on smooth bristol. Image size: @ 12″ X 9-1/2″

 

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to taking license

  1. Liz says:

    He is awesome! Thank you for sharing. I’m sure there’s a story behind those burning eyes!

  2. Fiona says:

    He is utterly stunning! Scary, though, and emotionless……..I see him as an Avenger whose justice woiuld never be tempered with mercy. I imagine there would be an awful battle between him and the Archangel Michael……..

    • twentzler says:

      He is rather scary, I agree. I wouldn’t want to do anything stupid in his forest. 😉 I’m glad to find that I’m not the only one who imagined a back story for him. 🙂

  3. Lisa says:

    Ohhh! I love him! Will you add color to him?

    You’ve been busy lately! I really like the new things you are trying these days. Nothing better to recharge the creative juices, than try new to you techniques.

    • twentzler says:

      Hi Lisa,
      It’s certainly different from my usual stuff… glad you like it. No, I probably won’t add color; the ink lines are so intense. It’s been very refreshing (and fun) to try different subjects and techniques. Stale isn’t a good thing. 🙂 Thanks for checking in!

Leave a Reply

