face time

One of the images for the Pen and Ink Project at WetCanvas this month is a beautiful portrait photo (by board member OzonaLori).  I’ve never attempted a portrait in ink before… for me it’s scary enough in an erasable medium like pencil!  Years and years ago (30 or so?!), (before I knew better than to be intimidated by it), I drew likenesses in pencil and charcoal, but stopped.  I don’t know why.

But the lady’s lovely expression, the wrinkled skin, and the range of values in the image were irresistible…

Here is my try at it:

If you think I simply dashed this off freehand in an hour or two, you’d be mistaken. 😉 As is the case with most of my drawings, I did quite a bit of “under drawing” in pencil before putting pen to paper.   I think I spent just about as much time trying to get the pencil drawing right as I did on the inking… at least it felt that way!

There’s always room for improvement of course, but I really enjoyed this exercise.

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to face time

  1. Erica says:

    I absolutely love this portrait. The woman looks so much like my grandmother that it brought tears to my eyes. She used to smile just that same way. Thanks for bringing back a happy memory. My gran passed away in 1991 and you brought her face back to me clear as day again. 😉

  2. Silverlotus says:

    Wow, that is truly amazing. I love how you have really made her eyes alive.

  3. Fiona says:

    That is beautiful!!! I remember seeing some of your portraits 🙂

    • twentzler says:

      Thanks, Fiona. Of all the portraits I drew back in those days, I don’t have a single one… it was bizarre to see them! (Back story: I had forgotten that a dear friend kept several of those portraits. During a visit recently, while she was searching for something else, she showed them to Fiona and me. It was a bit of a shock to see them again after so many years! :))

Leave a Reply

