horses redux

Here we go again.

Yes, dear readers, I am once again working on The Horses. (Sorry, I was going to link, but I’ve been working on them for so long, the original sketches are gone, along with my old blog.)

Anyway, these stupid silly things have gone through one revision after another for years now.  The original plan of finishing them as a series of prints has finally been abandoned.  As I progressed from one horse to the next, I saw my drawing style changing too much.  So much so that it became clear that they just would not make a cohesive collection.  I became more and more unhappy with the format I had chosen as well: the archways and backgrounds competed with the horses themselves.

But, being the stubborn person I am (must be a Taurus thing), and refusing to be reasonable and relegate them after so much effort to the “Aggravating, Embarrassing, Infuriating, Probably-never-to-be-finished Drawing Folder” (Yes, I’ve got one, and it’s really thick.), I have opted to persevere.  Again.  But this time with a different attitude.

My inability to finish the series had transitioned from just frustrating to more like… demoralizing.  Every approach I tried just didn’t work.  You should see how many aborted attempts in the aforementioned Folder have to do with this project!  I tried so many things that I kept the rejects to remind myself what didn’t work.

Why all the angst?  Why not just forget about them and move on?  I tried.  I guess it’s because I had invested *so* much time and effort that I couldn’t.

I decided, finally, that it doesn’t matter to me whether or not I really like the finished drawings that much, but rather that I stop driving myself nuts trying to find that elusive solution, and JUST. FINISH. THEM.!

So, I am approaching them this time as if they are an Assignment:  Create a group of 4 smaller seasonal carousel horse drawings (with some sort of border) in pen and ink with tinting.  Due date: February 28.

Am I disappointed that I had to settle for a different (and far less artistically satisfying) way to finish the series?  Sure. But I’ll live. 😉

So, onward!

One thing I  learned from earlier attempts is that I *MUST* work on all 4 at once to keep the style consistent.  Progress thus far:

Are they predictable, uninspired, and formulaic?  Oh yeah.  Snoozapalooza.  You betcha.  But.  They WILL be finished this time.

This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to horses redux

  1. Lisa says:

    Absolutely certifiable! 🙂

    I know you’ve mentioned listening to certain musical artists when designing. Maybe watching something like Mary Poppins would help you re-connect with these guys? LOL

  2. Melissa says:

    I just can’t criticize the horses! They are the ones that made me fall in love with your designs! I love them in all their incarnations! And as much as they infuriate you, I adore them!! Anytime you post that you are working with them, I get a thrill to see them! THEY ARE BEAUTIFUL TO ME!!! Thank you so much for you talent and sharing your journey with us!!

    • twentzler says:

      Thanks for commenting Melissa. They do (at times) frustrate me, but I know that by not giving up on them, they will teach me plenty… (even if it takes me longer to finish them than I could ever have dreamed?!?!) I’m glad you like them.

  3. Galhenat says:

    After reading Erica’s comment, I went back to look at the horses again. Not to be mean or anything, but I have issues with the bump on the front of the neck of the first and fourth horse. It looks odd to me, as if it’s too high. I think I would have expected it at the level of the harnass. Unless horses have Adam’s Apples? (Not really a horsey kind of person myself).

    Then again, the neck of the third horse looks fine by me. (It’s the bumpy bit under the eyes on the right that seems odd to me. Or is that a perspective thingy that my brain just refuse to see?)

    And for the second horse…. that one looks perfect! 😀

    Sorry for the criticism, it’s easy to criticize someone else’s work, but it’s very difficult to do the work yourself. I certainly couldn’t do better.
    Overall, I think they look wonderful. Do we get to see the finished results on the first of March?

    Galhenat
    (who noticed you didn’t mention a year… )

    • twentzler says:

      Galhenat,
      I appreciate the feedback. One of the things that has been a part of this project from the start is that the horses are modeled after carved carousel horses…thus they are highly idealized and, to a certain extent, simplified; they are by no means ‘anatomically correct’. Perhaps it’s something I should have changed… maybe not. They are sketches as well, and subject always to editing. 😉
      As I mentioned in my response to Erica’s post, I’m working again on the original drawings… these just haven’t captured my interest at all. I should know better by now to think I’d be satisfied doing something just for the sake of finishing when it’s not 100% of my best effort.

  4. Erica says:

    I still think you’re being too hard on yourself. They are beautiful!

    ….and at the risk of being taken out back and shot….. The third horse’s neck/head looks off to me – is the neck too long or the bend in the wrong spot? Am I making any sense? Or maybe it’s the placement of the tassel on the bridle that’s throwing me off… *shrug*

    Then again, what do I know anyway? I’m no artist! I can’t even draw a respectable stick person… *sigh*

    • twentzler says:

      Well, stay tuned… because I’m once again working on the larger drawings…you know…the ones I had given up on?! Am I certifiable or what? Sigh.
      Oh well… it’s part of the journey, I guess. And since I’ve chosen to share that journey, y’all get to see how nuts I really am! LOL
      And the horse’s neck: it very well could be off… at this point, I’ve drawn and re-drawn it so many times that I’m just glad it looks overall like a horse and not a dragon (or something?!) Thanks for commenting, Erica!

  5. Olga says:

    Dear Teresa!
    Please, don’t worry! I love your pattern so much. This is very wonderful work, when stitching them – I will became myself a wizard.

    Today I cross stitching my first work on the your pattern – this is Rocking Horse at name Misty. I very love it, adorable, lovely and beautiful!!! Thank you very much by your talant! I wish you, Teresa – Inspiration is always with you!

    Olya.

Leave a Reply

