still around

Hello everyone!  I’m still here…  It always takes me awhile to get back into the swing of things after the holidays.  I’m back at work; just don’t have much to say or show you at present.

Winter has finally arrived in earnest here… I know we’ve gotten off very easily compared to so many areas of the country, so I’m not complaining.  It just finally *feels* like winter. 🙂

Since we live in the woods, and are surrounded by deciduous trees, the snow turns our little corner of the world into one big pen-and-ink study.  The snow seems to make the bare branches stand out in relief… and with the wind that’s blowing, the trees remind me of kinetic abstract sculptures.  The multitude of winter birds who have made our feeder home base go about the daily business of survival in spite of the inhospitable weather.  Their feathers are blown all fluffy and askew, and they add their feisty personalities (and splashes of cardinal red and jay blue) to the scene.

Brrr!  I’m glad I get to stay indoors and watch from the window.

I sincerely doubt I’ll ever be a plein air painter like those hardy (and dedicated!) souls who venture outside during the winter …not winter in Florida or Arizona mind you …but winter in the Northeast… to paint.  I’ve been reading artist Stapleton Kearns’ blog. Lately he’s been writing about winter outdoor painting, and I’m amazed by what these artists do to do what they love.  Check out the posts from January 16-22.

Stay warm!

This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to still around

  1. twentzler says:

    I’m sorry I missed your comment, Fiona… There just aren’t nearly enough daylight/sunny hours at this time of year, are there?!

  2. Fiona says:

    I’m still around, too……but only just. Is it nearly summer yet?

Leave a Reply

