finished

Finally.

I opted to try to make the flower “come forward” by compressing the values in the background… by getting rid of the lightest tones in the leaves, except where they were needed to make cast shadows more visible.  The theory is that tones hanging somewhere around the mid-range (mid-way between highlight and deepest shadow) will cause the viewer’s eye to go automatically to the area(s) of highest contrast.  So, I intensified the blacks immediately around the flower, and tried leave as much of the white paper showing in the lightest areas of the flower as I could to play up the contrast factor.

I have no doubt I’ll go back and tweak things after I haven’t looked at it for awhile, but I’m calling it finished.  Thanks to those of you who have offered feedback thus far; I appreciate it very much!

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to finished

  1. twentzler says:

    Thanks so much for commenting, everyone!

    Silverlotus, There is some terminology that artists tend to toss around quite a lot… it’s not difficult stuff, but it’s greek to those who don’t use it every day. 🙂 Because of your comment (and questions I’ve received over the years), I am giving thought to doing some posts addressing the elements and principles of Design.

  2. Jan says:

    Super!!! just Super!!! ! I am so wishing this was a notecard cover I’d buy a box set in a heartbeat. 🙂

  3. Melissa says:

    Absolutely beautiful! One of my favourite flowers!

  4. Silverlotus says:

    I think it looks great! I don’t really understand exactly what you did, but the background looks great now. The flower really stands out. You are so talented.

Leave a Reply

