the iris again

Yes, I know I should be making an end on this already.

But I wanted to post it anyway and talk a bit about when to STOP with pen and ink.  Wish I could.  I have yet to get the hang of it, unfortunately.

So, I’ve resigned myself to finishing (I still have a bit to do on the petals yet), and calling it a value study with several lessons learned.  I hope.

While I like some parts of it (and may feel better about it after it’s totally finished and I’ve tweaked it in a few places, who knows?), I’m feeling like all of that foliage is just a tad too much.  I did an experiment in Photoshop and cropped a good 1-1/2″ off the top of the drawing and I didn’t miss it much… other than the fact that the iris became a bulls-eye smack dab in the center of the drawing (generally a no-no compositionally).

Oh well!  Enough for today.  Tomorrow’s another day.

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to the iris again

  1. Jan says:

    Maybe what you need is an unopened flower with it to balance it out.. example…. http://www.flowerpictures.net/Flowerpictures/flowerpictures_2007/iris_2007/pages/siberian_iris-1.htm

    but that’s just my 2 cents… it’s still a great drawing either way. 🙂

    • twentzler says:

      Good suggestion, Jan. At this point, because it’s pen and ink, it’s too late to do anything about it… but it does say something to me about future drawings; I will be paying closer attention to *composition*! 🙂

  2. Silverlotus says:

    I think I understand what you mean about the foliage. It seems maybe a little too dark and/or busy. Overall, though, I think this is beautiful.

    • twentzler says:

      Silverlotus, Agreed…about the busy-ness of the background as it is now. One of the things I could try to take attention away from the background is to lower the contrast (range of values) in the foliage… which would force the viewer’s eye to rest on the flower instead. The only problem is that that approach will make the background even darker. Ah well! Nothing ventured, nothing gained, right? 🙂

  3. Artswebshow says:

    It looks fantastic.
    Great drawing

Leave a Reply

