something different

I decided to take a break from the horses and work on something a bit smaller and *intentionally* faster for a couple of days.  The drawing is 81/2″ X 61/2″.

(I rather like the abstract quality it has at the moment.)

Originally I intended NOT to use cross-hatching… but that went by the boards pretty quickly.  The photo I’m using for reference has a very dark background in places, which is probably why I was drawn to it in the first place.  The flower is a very light cream/yellow and contrasts dramatically. (Sorry, I can’t post the photo: it’s from an old magazine, and I don’t have the photographer’s name to give proper copyright annotation.)

Anyway. What was originally intended as an exploration of the petal and leaf  textures instead has become more of a value (light and shadow) study.

What I’m striving for is looser, faster pen work…along with, of course, an accurate, but not slave-ish representation of the flower.  I’d like to indicate just enough of the background to give context for the bloom, but not draw attention away from it.  We’ll see!

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to something different

  1. twentzler says:

    Thanks for the comments, everyone! Much appreciated! 🙂

  2. Melissa says:

    Wow! That is lovely! Not being an artist (I can’t draw to save my life!), I absolutely LOVE pen and ink sketches! I’m not sure why, but they speak to me on some level, they feel very alive to me. I can’t explain it any better than that. You are one talented lady!

  3. It looks GREAT! Don’t give up the cross-hatching… be true to your wonderful, unique style and GO FOR IT!

  4. Missy/Raven says:

    This is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

