procrastination anyone?

Lately, I’ve been doing a lot of doodling and sketching, but not getting much of anywhere.  I guess, like many artists, I get caught up in the worries of trying to make a living instead of just doing the work of making art.  The longer I go without producing artwork, the more “stuck” and worried I feel.  It’s a nasty mire I get myself into!

In fact, writing this blog post is a rather poorly disguised attempt to avoid the drawing board, shame on me.  So, I will try to at least make this post count and share something useful!

I just finished reading “The War of Art”, by Steven Pressfield. (ISBN: 0-446-69143-7)  The book’s subtitle is “Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles”.

I heartily recommend it, especially if you’re struggling with procrastination in your chosen creative endeavor, whatever it might be.   The book is divided into three sections:  Part one deals with Defining the Enemy, which he terms ‘Resistance’. (I have to tell you, I saw myself …or rather my habits/excuses on every single page.)  Part two addresses combating Resistance, (which made me feel better: I can do something about it!) and part three covers Mr. Pressfield’s thoughts on Inspiration.

While I might not agree with every idea he puts forward, (especially the 3rd part), overall, I found the book inspiring, positive and downright funny in many places…

Pretty much exactly what I needed. :-)

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to procrastination anyone?

  1. Stephanie says:

    I read that book awhile back, too, and thought it was excellent. My favorite bit is at the end where he says that if we don’t [do what we’re put here to do, we hurt not only ourselves, but everyone else.] But it’s not just an admonishment or a chastisement; he ends with encouragement: “Give us what you’ve got.” The other thing that keeps me going is something Igor Stravinsky said: “Ideas usually come to me while I’m working…” And I love that one of your mantras is one of mine: “Do the work.” It all boils down to that, and *eventually* all creative blocks (even the really, really long ones) come to an end if we keep showing up. Best regards, a long-time fan, Stephanie

  2. Jan says:

    Sounds interesting and as a fellow procrastinator I went on-line to my public library and down loaded the audio book. I shall give it a listen tonight while working on my stitchery.

Leave a Reply

